The Two Team Dichotomy: A Rant

I swear the U.S. two-party system is going to drive me up the fucking wall. Why does the most important election in this country always have to be held between two complete assholes and why do we accept the sabotage of any decent alternatives? On one hand, we have a loudmouth buffoon flirting with fascism and on the other, we have a senile jackass who will say anything to convince you that he'll be better than the other guy but keeps assuring his wall street buddies that he has no plans to change the status quo.

So, worse case scenario, Trump gets another term and the slide towards fascism becomes a free fall. But in the best case scenario, whatever iota of positive change democrats actually pull off could be wiped away in 2024 because the material conditions that made people desperate enough to think voting for a fascist is okay won't actually be addressed.  

But we HAVE to vote for Biden if we want to stop fascism, right? I mean, it's not like Trump could pull a Grover Cleaveland or be replaced with a shittier but more competent contender next time, right?

Let's face it. For the U.S. government to regain any sense of legitimacy before we all get too blackpilled to care it NEEDS to abandon this two-team dichotomy. Democrats aren't good by default, and excusing their worst faults just because they can claim the other side is worse is part of what led us into the situation we're in today. 

But that sure as hell isn't going to happen until we abolish the electoral college and institute ranked choice voting (or any other style of voting that gives more than two people a chance to win) and not enough people are talking about this! So, take this to heart because there is no more resonating truth to me right now:: the ballot box is fucking broken and you're dreaming if that's your best hope at opposing fascism.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

I'm (Not) Triggered!

Disillusioned, Disgruntled, and Disgusted- Why I May Never Trust Democrats Again