Guys, I need to talk about this anime I just watched...
When I first heard of "Food Wars! Shokugeki no Soma" I was ecstatic. I have always loved shonen anime for it's over the top interpretation of just about everything, from sports to playing Justice League with your classmates . I could go on for an entire post about my favorite tropes from that genre, but I really just want to talk about this one show for now. You see, picturing something I really enjoy doing (cooking) through the lens of shonen anime was an attractive prospect, so I was excited to check it out immediately when I first heard of it. When I did, though, I had a lot of thoughts getting in the way of the show itself. What do I mean? Well... (CW: Rape, Spoilers Ahead) The first word of the entire show is DISGUSTING! Apparently the protagonist, Souma Yukihira made a ridiculous cooking choice, pairing squid with peanut butter sauce. How anyone with functioning taste buds could think this is a good idea is beyond me. Maybe this character is terrible at ev...